This is an actual scam letter I recently recieved. It seems to be from PayPal but it is not. The scammer linked to real PayPal images, the top PayPal logo actually links to the PayPal web site, and included a real mailto link to Amazon.com.

The Dispute link though will take you to the scammers bogus site.

The objective is to anger or scare you enough to click on the dispute link so that your credit card information and/or your Pay Pal account number can be obtained by the scammer.

In an actual email from Pay Pal, ALL LINKS WILL BEGIN WITH "https://www.paypal.com/".
If the email has links that start with anything else, or have a set of numbers in this format :/000.00.000.00, THIS IS A SCAM.

If you recieve an e-mail similar to this and you DO NOT have a Pay Pal account, it's a scam.

If you DO have a Pay Pal account, DO NOT CLICK on any link in the letter. Open a new browser window and Log in to your account at https://www.paypal.com, and check your account activity - any transactions processed on your Pay Pal account will be displayed there.

Report fraudulent Pay Pal emails to https://www.paypal.com/ewf/f=pps_spf

Location of scam site: Taiwan (Best estimate based on whois data/tracking software)

This real PayPal Link has been de-activated


This email confirms that you have paid Amazon Inc. (amazon.com) $270.00 USD using PayPal.
                                         (This mail to link has been de-activated)

This credit card transaction will appear on your bill as "PAYPAL Amazon*".


PayPal Shopping Cart Contents
Item Name: Canon HV10 HV-10 HDV Camcorder w/2-Lens
Quantity: 1
Total: $270.00 USD

Cart Subtotal: $250.00 USD
Shipping Charge: $20.00 USD
Cart Total: $270.00 USD


Shipping Information

Shipping Info: Junia D Williams
1808 Sunset Point Rd Apt N ,
Clearwater , FL 33765
United States
Address Status: Unconfirmed  

If you haven't authorized this charge, click the link below to cancel the payment and get a full refund.
     Dispute Transaction 
This de-activated link would take the reader to the scammers site probably somewhere in Taiwan
Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team